TASSTA Documentation Center TASSTA Documentation Center More products
Hide table of contents Hide details Search My account

Multi-user calls: dynamic, broadcast, full-duplex and multi PTV

A dynamic, broadcast, full-duplex or multi PTV (push-to-video) call includes users from arbitrary groups. It does not require reorganizing users in any way; you don't even have to create a dynamic group for the purpose.

All multi-user calls are created in a similar way, and the difference between them is in their purpose:

  • Dynamic calls are a streamlined way to make a quick group call.
  • Broadcast calls are normally intended for announcements and organizational information. In this type of call, the initiator subscribes specific users; these users can only listen and cannot opt out or answer. Broadcast call permissions are also administered separately from PTT permissions.
  • Full-duplex calls let multiple users listen and talk at the same time.
  • Multi PTV calls are similar to dynamic calls, but are accompanied by video feeds from people who are currently talking. They are essentially video chats where participants take turns.

To add a user to one of such calls, simply double-click that user in the user list in the left pane. Alternatively, click the user name and then click the double check mark button in the call panel below, in the Create call tab.

Note:

If the call panel is collapsed, expand it by clicking the handset-and-arrow icon.

To remove a user from a dynamic or broadcast call, double-click that user in the Create call tab in the call panel. Alternatively, click that user and then click the cross mark button.

The group drop-down menu in the call panel lets you set the parent channel where the temporary channel for your call will be nested.

To start the call you need, click one of the following buttons in the call panel:

Button Call type
Dynamic call Dynamic call
Broadcast call Broadcast call
Full-duplex call Full-duplex call
Multi PTV call Multi PTV call

The call panel becomes collapsed, and you can use the PTT button for communication as in a regular group call. The call ends if you select your current call in the Active calls tab in the call panel and click the red handset button. Alternatively, right-click the item for this call in the group list and select Release. Changing the channel does not delete the call.