TASSTA Documentation Center TASSTA Documentation Center More products
Hide table of contents Hide details Search My account

Voice communication

T.Rodon provides the following voice communication features:

PTT is available throughout T.Rodon

Channel talk is the central functionality of the TASSTA system. By default, you can use PTT no matter how your window layout is configured. Even if you are focused on the map interface, the PTT button is always at hand – you can hit:

  • The graphical button in the main T.Rodon window
  • The hotkey for it (Esc by default, configurable on the Shortcut settings page in the configuration settings)
  • The hardware button on a supported accessory

Alternatively, to make an individual call from the map interface, right-click the TASSTA user you need on the map and select Call. The individual call will be started and the chosen user will receive the ringing tone. Both members can communicate once the call is accepted by the recipient.

The PTT button is versatile

The primary use of the graphical PTT button is to claim the floor during communication. In addition to this functionality, the button can also indicate status information for communication-related features.

Note:

Which statuses are shown depends on the current T.Rodon configuration settings and on administrative configuration defined in T.Commander for your user account or for the available channels. You may not see some of the features listed below.

The following information may be present on the PTT button:

What is indicated Details
Caller information During a group call, the user who is speaking and that user's group are shown below the PTT button. Depending on the administrative configuration, while the channel is silent, the PTT button can show either nothing or the most recent caller's name until another participant begins to speak.
Channel use timeout For specific channels, the top of the PTT button shows an "Active for:" label with a countdown. The button becomes locked after the timer runs out, and the label changes to "Locked". The timer is reset every time someone in the channel uses the PTT button. This way, if the channel stays silent until the timer runs out, PTT is turned off for it. PTT is turned back on when you or someone else enters or re-enters the channel, resetting the timer automatically.
E2EE status A dark or light lock icon on the right of the PTT button shows and lets you change the state of end-to-end encryption. For details, see End-to-end encryption for voice and messages.
PTT hold timeout specifics:

Administrative configuration may define a PTT hold timeout for your user account, where you are allowed to hold the floor for no longer than a specified time and PTT is automatically released for you when the time limit is hit. This feature works in some situations but not in others – it is applicable where there is a PTT queue (floor control).
In particular, the timeout works in the following types of call:

  • Group call (except in conference channels)
  • PTV call
  • Broadcast call
  • Emergency call: only after the emergency PTT timeout ends

The timeout does not work in the following situations:

  • Conference channel
  • Full-duplex call
  • Video call
  • Individual call
  • Emergency call: before the emergency PTT timeout ends

Also note that in networks with bridged connections, the timeout never works for bridge users.

Muting users and channels

Under some circumstances, you may want to mute a user or channel. For that, right-click the user in the user list or the group in the group tree and select Mute. The channels and users you have muted are marked with a red stricken-out loudspeaker icon. The Mute action works as a toggle – to unmute a channel or user, select it again for that channel or user.

Note:

If you mute somebody, it does not affect their access privileges or experience in any way and works as your personal filter.

Multilistening

You can listen to multiple channels at the same time. For that, right-click that channel in the group tree and select Listen. The channels you are listening to are marked with a blue loudspeaker icon. The Listen action works as a toggle – to stop listening to a channel, select it again for that channel.

Multilistening is available if it is allowed by administrative configuration.

Talkgroup scan

You have the option to listen to and respond in all channels in which other users are talking. Watching groups independently and permanently switching between the channels manually may not always be convenient. Talkgroup scan is a feature that solves this problem. With talkgroup scan turned on, you automatically enter a channel as soon as someone starts talking in it. Unlike the group listening feature, an operator not only listens but can also immediately respond in the active channel by pressing the PTT button.

To activate this feature, go to the Talkgroup scan page in the configuration settings and select the Enable Talkgroup Scan for regular channels option. To work with the feature, right-click the channel you want to listen to and select Listen. To use talkgroup scan for emergency channels, select the Enable Talkgroup Scan for emergency channels option in the settings.

Tip:

If you want listening to be automatically enabled for all channels, go to the Multi listen page in the configuration settings and select the Listen all channels on start option. Close and restart T.Rodon to apply this setting.

Call requests

As an operator, you may often find yourself too busy to answer incoming calls right away. However, mobile users can send you call requests so that you can call them back at your convenience. Your incoming call requests are shown and managed in the Call Queue plugin view.

Call recordings

Server-side TASSTA software can keep recordings of the calls that occur in the network. For details about access to these recordings, see History: call recordings.

In addition, recordings can be saved to your local hard drive. For details, see Local History: saved call recordings.