TASSTA Documentation Center TASSTA Documentation Center More products
Hide table of contents Hide details Search My account

Dynamic Groups

Dynamic Groups

The Dynamic Groups plugin lets you create a temporary dynamic group from selected users no matter what channels they are currently in. Once you have created it, you can use it for communication like a regular channel.

To create a dynamic group:

  1. In the Dynamic Groups plugin window, drag a user you need from the list on the left to somewhere in the channel tree on the right. You can drop the user at the root channel (usually called Main) or one of the sub-channels as necessary.
  2. In the Move users dialog box that appears, select the Create Dynamic Channel option and specify a name for the new dynamic channel. Click Move.

The dynamic group exists only as long as there is at least one user in it. When the last user has moved to a different channel, the dynamic group is deleted automatically.

In addition to PTT-based group communication, the Dynamic Groups plugin provides the following actions, represented by buttons at the bottom of the window:

  • Start listening
    Select one or more users on the left, then select a channel on the right, and then click Start listening to make the selected user or users listen to that channel.
  • Stop listening
    Select one or more users on the left, then select a channel on the right, and then click Stop listening to prevent the selected user or users from listening to that channel.
  • Select all users
    A shortcut for selecting all online users from all channels.
  • Select users by channel
    Select the channel you need on the right, and then click Select users by channel to select all users from that channel.
  • Merge channels
    Make a multiple selection of channels by holding down Ctrl, and then click Merge channels to bring the users from those channels together. In the dialog box that opens, set the destination for those users: either an existing channel in the tree or a new dynamic group.
  • Release channels
    Select a dynamic channel on the right, and then click Release channels to clear users from it. In the dialog box that opens, set the destination for those users: either the channel where they were previously or one specific channel in the tree.